Jefferson’s Sons: A Founding Father’s Secret Children


Puffin Books - As each child grows up and tells his story, the contradiction between slavery and freedom becomes starker, calliing into question the real meaning of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. This poignant story sheds light on what life was like as one of Jefferson's invisible offspring. This story of thomas jefferson's children by one of his slaves, Sally Hemings, tells a darker piece of America's history from an often unseen perspective-that of three of Jefferson's slaves-including two of his own children.

More information about Puffin Books

For Freedom: The Story of a French Spy


Delacorte Books for Young Readers - The historical context is neatly woven into the story. Kirkus reviews, starred"the action will have readers on the edge through the tense conclusion, and the epilogue is not to be missed. The bulletin"a highly compelling look at the covert battle for freedom. Publishers weeklyan ira teachers' choicean ala amelia bloomer selectionA VOYA Top Shelf Fiction SelectionA New York Public Library Book PickA Bank Street College Best Book of the YearFrom the Hardcover edition.

From the newbery honor and schneider award-winning author of the war that Saved My Life comes For Freedom, the thrilling true story of one of France's youngest spies during World War II and perfect for fans of Code Name Verity and The Diary of Anne Frank. Suzanne david's everyday life is suddenly shattered in 1940 when a bomb drops on the main square of her hometown, the city of Cherbourg, France, killing a pregnant neighbor right in front of her.

For Freedom: The Story of a French Spy - Each chapter brings new intrigue and often shocking revelations. Resonating with authenticity, excitement, and heart. Booklist, starredSTAR "This suspenseful novel,.

More information about Delacorte Books for Young Readers


Similar products



The War I Finally Won


Dial Books - Satisfying. A german? could ruth be a spy? as the fallout from war intensifies, calamity creeps closer, and life during wartime grows even more complicated. Life in the crowded home is tense. Daring. The new york Times "Stunning. The washington post★ "Ada is for the ages—as is this book. Her triumphant world war ii journey continues in this sequel to the newbery honor–winning The War that Saved My Life   When Ada’s clubfoot is surgically fixed at last, she knows for certain that she’s not what her mother said she was—damaged, deranged, crippled mentally as well as physically.

. Ruth, a jewish girl, from Germany. Will stay with readers. Pw, starred review"Beautiful. HuffPost. Even as she moves us to tears. The horn book, starred review★ "Perceptive.

More information about Dial Books


Similar products



The President's Daughter


Yearling - Suddenly, and politician, father is not only a famous cowboy, but also President Theodore Roosevelt, war hero, leader of the United States—and Ethel has a new place to call home. Sister knows the secret of being brave and making friends, and she’s willing to share it. The white house is older and stuffier than Ethel imagined, but there’s never a dull moment with her adventurous family around.

When her fashionable older sister arrives home, Ethel feels new hope. Ethel wishes she could be as courageous as father and make her family proud. All ethel needs to do is take one outrageous dare. Bradley makes Ethel a vivid and engaging presence and. This novel is a fascinating look at an intriguing world.

The President's Daughter - Kirkus Reviews"A fascinating story. Booklist"Loaded with historical details. The novel rings true and the people come to life. Slj"fascinating glimpses of pre-World War I Washington and one of the liveliest families to ever occupy the White House.

More information about Yearling


Similar products



The War that Saved My Life


Dial Books - But in the end, will their bond be enough to hold them together through wartime? Or will Ada and her brother fall back into the cruel hands of their mother?   This masterful work of historical fiction is equal parts adventure and a moving tale of family and identity—a classic in the making. Her mother is too humiliated by Ada’s twisted foot to let her outside.

So begins a new adventure for Ada, and for Susan Smith, the woman who is forced to take the two kids in. 1 new york times bestsellernewbery honor bookwinner of the schneider family book award middle schoolwall street Journal Best Children's Books of 2015New York Public Library's 100 Books for Reading and Sharing An exceptionally moving story of triumph against all odds set during World War II, from the acclaimed author of Jefferson’s Sons and for fans of Number the Stars.

The War that Saved My Life - Ten-year-old Ada has never left her one-room apartment. So when her little brother jamie is shipped out of London to escape the war, Ada doesn’t waste a minute—she sneaks out to join him. As ada teaches herself to ride a pony, learns to read, and watches for German spies, she begins to trust Susan—and Susan begins to love Ada and Jamie.

More information about Dial Books


Similar products



Halfway to the Sky


Yearling - Unfortunately for her master plan, her mother doesn’t have much trouble figuring out where Dani’s gone. Now it’s the two of them, hiking for as long as Dani can manage to persuade her mother to keep going. But dani’s got an even longer emotional journey to make—and it’s one she and her mom need to make together.

A wise and thoughtful book. The bulletin"readers will readily relate to the angst and anger and be intrigued by the details about the Trail itself. Kirkus reviewsFrom the Hardcover edition. She plans to do something amazing, and go where her parents will never find her: she’s going to hike the whole Appalachian Trail, from Georgia to Maine.

Halfway to the Sky - The trail is a legend in her family, fell in love, the place where her parents met, and got married 14 years before. From the newbery honor and schneider award-winning author of The War that Saved My Life comes Halfway to the Sky, a compelling novel perfect for fans of Rain Reign. Twelve-year-old dani is running away from home, or what’s left of home anyway.

Her older brother, who had muscular dystrophy, died a few months ago. Now home is just dani and her sad, silent mother, and Dani’s got to get away. Then her father left and her parents got divorced.

More information about Yearling


Similar products



Chains Seeds of America Book 1


Atheneum Books for Young Readers - When isabel meets curzon, he encourages her to spy on her owners, a slave with ties to the Patriots, who know details of British plans for invasion. If an entire nation could seek its freedom, why not a girl? As the Revolutionary War begins, thirteen-year-old Isabel wages her own fight. For freedom. Promised freedom upon the death of their owner, ruth, the locktons, she and her sister, in a cruel twist of fate become the property of a malicious New York City couple, who have no sympathy for the American Revolution and even less for Ruth and Isabel.

From acclaimed author laurie halse Anderson comes this compelling, impeccably researched novel that shows the lengths we can go to cast off our chains, both physical and spiritual. She is reluctant at first, but when the unthinkable happens to Ruth, Isabel realizes her loyalty is available to the bidder who can provide her with freedom.

More information about Atheneum Books for Young Readers


Similar products



Ashes Seeds of America Book 3


Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - With purpose and faith, fiercely determined to find Isabel’s little sister Ruth, Isabel and Curzon march on, who is enslaved in a Southern state—where bounty hunters are thick as flies. Before long they are reported as runaways, and the awful Bellingham is determined to track them down. Return to the american revolution in this blistering conclusion to the Seeds of America trilogy that began with the bestselling National Book Award Finalist Chains and continued with Forge, which Kirkus Reviews called “the best book you’ll ever read.

As the revolutionary war rages on, Isabel and Curzon have narrowly escaped Valley Forge—but their relief is short-lived. Heroism and heartbreak pave their path, and then freedom, but Isabel and Curzon won’t stop until they reach Ruth, in this grand finale to the acclaimed New York Times bestselling trilogy from Laurie Halse Anderson.

More information about Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books


Similar products



Forge Seeds of America Book 2


Atheneum Books for Young Readers - For many readers, forge “will be one of the best novels they have ever read” starred review from Kirkus Reviews!Blistering winds. And the hope of a new future. In this compelling sequel to chains, a national book award finalist and winner of the scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction, acclaimed author Laurie Halse Anderson shifts perspective from Isabel to Curzon and brings to the page the tale of what it takes for runaway slaves to forge their own paths in a world of obstacles—and in the midst of the American Revolution.

The patriot army was shaped and strengthened by the desperate circumstances of the Valley Forge winter. And then there is isabel, who is also at Valley Forge—against her will. In addition to the hardships of soldiering, he lives with the fear of discovery, for he is an escaped slave passing for free. Bitter cold.

Forge Seeds of America Book 2 - She and curzon have to sort out the tangled threads of their friendship while figuring out what stands between the two of them and true freedom. This is where Curzon the boy becomes Curzon the young man.

More information about Atheneum Books for Young Readers


Similar products



Fever 1793


Atheneum Books for Young Readers - Down near the docks, many have taken ill, and the fatalities are mounting. Now they include Polly, the serving girl at the Cook Coffeehouse. New customers have overrun her family's coffee shop, located far from the mosquito-infested river, and Mattie's concerns of fever are all but overshadowed by dreams of growing her family's small business into a thriving enterprise.

But when the fever begins to strike closer to home, Mattie's struggle to build a new life must give way to a new fight-the fight to stay alive. It's late summer 1793, and the streets of Philadelphia are abuzz with mosquitoes and rumors of fever. But fourteen-year-old Mattie Cook doesn't get a moment to mourn the passing of her childhood playmate.

More information about Atheneum Books for Young Readers


Similar products



Sophia's War: A Tale of the Revolution


Beach Lane Books - And if she fails, she’s facing an execution of her own. Sophia is horrified by the event and resolves to do all she can to help the American cause. Lives hang in the balance in this gripping Revolutionary War adventure from a beloved Newbery Medalist. In 1776, young sophia calderwood witnesses the execution of Nathan Hale in New York City, which is newly occupied by the British army.

. Master storyteller avi shows exactly how personal politics can be in this “nail-biting thriller” Publishers Weekly that is rich in historical detail and rife with action. Through her work she becomes aware that someone in the American army might be switching sides, and she uncovers a plot that will grievously damage the Americans if it succeeds.

Sophia's War: A Tale of the Revolution - But the identity of the would-be traitor is so shocking that no one believes her, and so Sophia decides to stop the treacherous plot herself, she’s a girl, at great personal peril: She’s young, and she’s running out of time. Recruited as a spy, she becomes a maid in the home of General Clinton, the supreme commander of the British forces in America.

More information about Beach Lane Books


Similar products